Externships

BluePearl Veterinary Partners welcomes veterinary students to visit our facilities or participate in an externship.  We also welcome veterinary technology students to visit our hospitals and participate in an externship to gain additional work experience.

Students are encouraged to rotate throughout the hospital during their stay and will work with the specialists, residents, interns, and senior emergency clinicians. Externships are up to two weeks only. Students are welcomed to attend all lectures, journal clubs, and rounds that are scheduled during their stay.  Due to the structure of the program, the hospital is usually unable to provide an externship experience in one department/discipline only. Our externship experience gives you wonderful exposure to a multi-disciplined referral and emergency practice.

Veterinary Technology students are also welcomed at all of our hospitals as part of their school program. We are able to accommodate students with flexible schedules, as most of our hospitals are open 24 hours a day. Students will work closely with our clinicians and our talented staff members of Certified or Licensed Veterinary Technicians and assistants.

If you would like to schedule an externship or work experience with us, please contact the following externship coordinator at the BluePearl hospital of your choice:

Florida
Hospital Administrator Madeleine Reberkenny, madeleine.reberkenny@bluepearlvet.com

Georgia
Human Resource Manager Tareka Beasley, Tareka.Beasley@bluepearlvet.com

Illinois
Practice Manager Jaime Hill, jaime.hill@bluepearlvet.com

Kansas City
Medical Director Jeff Dennis, DVM, DACVIM, jeff.dennis@bluepearlvet.com

Michigan
Ann Arbor, Auburn Hills, Southfield technician externships: Heather Bida, heather.bida@bluepearlvet.com
Ann Arbor, Auburn Hills, Southfield veterinarian externships: Fikriyyah Pettaway, fikriyyah.pettaway@bluepearlvet.com
Grand Rapids externships: Tabitha Yuhas, tabitha.yuhas@bluepearlvet.com

Minnesota
Jeff Yu, DVM, DACVS, jeff.yu@bluepearlvet.com

New York
Supervisor Jayson Bennett, jayson.bennett@bluepearlvet.com

Tennessee
Practice Administrator Darcy Meade, darcy.meade@bluepearlvet.com