Close
Externships
Externship

Veterinary students from AVMA-accredited schools are welcome to apply for externships that include rotations through hospital services, observing alongside our specialists, senior emergency clinicians, residents and interns. Externships vary in length and structure depending on the hospital and the requirements of the extern’s veterinary school. Students are welcome to attend most lectures, journal clubs and rounds during their stay. 

Veterinary technology students from accredited schools also are welcome. We are able to accommodate students with flexible schedules, as most of our hospitals are open 24/7. Students will work closely with our clinicians, our talented team of VTSs, licensed technicians and assistants.

Prospective externs should reach out individually to the program coordinators listed below for more information.


Arizona
Veterinary students contact Sarah Taubenberger, DVM, sarah.taubenberger@bluepearlvet.com
Veterinary technician students contact Rebecca Talbott, BS, CVT, VTS at rebecca.talbott@bluepearlvet.com

Florida
Stephanie Baker, stephanie.baker@bluepearlvet.com

Georgia
Jasmine Lullen, jasmine.lullen@bluepearlvet.com

Illinois
Veterinary students contact Megan Kaplan, DVM, DACVECC, megan.kaplan@bluepearlvet.com
Veterinary technology students contact Kristie Wulf, kristie.wulf@bluepearlvet.com

Kansas City
Medical Director Jeff Dennis, DVM, DACVIM, jeff.dennis@bluepearlvet.com

Kentucky
Clinical Manager Alisha Crutcher, LVMT, BAS, alisha.crutcher@bluepearlvet.com

Massachusetts
Mary Ann Nieves, DVM, CACVS, maryann.nieves@bluepearlvet.com

Michigan
Ann Arbor – Michelle Hein, michelle.hein@bluepearlvet.com
Auburn Hills & Macomb – Alexa Coates, alexa.coates@bluepearlvet.com
Grand Rapids – Brittany Schoonmaker, brittany.schoonmaker@bluepearlvet.com
Southfield – Fikriyyah Pettaway, fikriyyah.pettaway@bluepearlvet.com and Valerie Strong, valerie.strong@bluepearlvet.com

Minnesota
Jeff Yu, DVM, DACVS, jeff.yu@bluepearlvet.com
Veterinary technician students
Blaine: contact Amanda Kriesel, amanda.kriesel@bluepearlvet.com 
Eden Prairie: contact Elizabeth Peplinski, elizabeth.peplinski@bluepearlvet.com  

New York
Supervisor Jayson Bennett, jayson.bennett@bluepearlvet.com

Pennsylvania
Veterinary students contact Bobbi Jo Foulks at bfoulks@bluepearlvet.com
Nurse students contact Amy Meenan at ameenan@bluepearlvet.com

Tennessee
Hospital Administrator Lori Ramig, lori.ramig@bluepearlvet.com

Texas
Corpus Christi, New Braunfels, San Antonio Broadway, San Antonio Sonterra: contact Shawn McLallen at shawn.mclallen@bluepearlvet.com
Katy, Spring, Willowbrook: contact Nichole Eddings at nichole.eddings@bluepearlvet.com

Washington
Renton:  
Fourth-year veterinary students please contact Jen Waldrop, DVM, DACVECC at jennifer.waldrop@bluepearlvet.com
Other veterinary students please contact Jon Wieringa, LVT, VTS(ECC) at jon.wieringa@bluepearlvet.com
Veterinary technician students please contact Shannan Hunter, LVT, VTS(SAIM) at shannan.hunter@bluepearlvet.com

Seattle:
Veterinary students, and current veterinarians contact Jen Waldrop, DVM, DACVECC at jennifer.waldrop@bluepearlvet.com
Veterinary technician students contact Allison Dietz, LVT at allison.dietz@bluepearlvet.com